NDC Race: Ofosu Ampofo is now national chairman

Delegates of the opposition National Democratic Party have rewarded long service and loyalty to the party by voting massively for Samuel Ofosu Ampofo as the new chairman and retaining Johnson Asiedu Nketiah as General Secretary for the third successive time.

After almost 18 hours of voting, sorting and counting, Ampofo, the former Branch chairman of the party who rose to become a Member of Parliament and a Local Government Minister garnered 3656 votes ahead of his closest contender Dan Abodakpi who polled 2,199 votes. Alhaji Hudu Yahaya who had previously tasted national executive position as General Secretary failed in his bid to win the chairmanship slot. He polled 1823.

Betty Mould Iddrisu, the only woman who contested the chairmanship slot was consoled with 355 votes with Danny Annang, a financier of the party also failing to cross the 500 vote mark, with a paltry 309.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.