B/A: Curfew imposed at Drobo, Japekrom and 6 other communities after shooting

The Ministry of Interior has imposed a curfew on Drobo, Japekrom and six other communities in the Jaman South Municipal area following Wednesday’s clashes which has resulted in the death of two people and injuring 14 others through gunshots.

The 6pm to 6am curfew which takes immediate effect was imposed by the Ministry of Interior after a consideration of the security situation in the area following a recommendation by the municipal assembly and affirmed by the Brong Ahafo Regional Security Council (REGSEC).

The eight affected communities are Drobo, Japekrom, Mpuasu, Babianiha, Kwasibourkrom, Basekrom, Kojokesekrom and Katakyiekrom.

Residents of the area are currently living in fear because of the renewed hostility by the twin-towns of Drobo and Japekrom.

Notwithstanding the official police announcement of two deaths, other reports filtering in from the area indicate that the death toll has risen to four while scores of the people have been injured in reprisal attacks.

Updates soon.

Daily Graphic


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.