MOBA 2008 Inaugurated

A decade after completing the country’s first secondary school, the 2008 year group of Mfantsipim School has been officially ushered into the Mfantsipim Old Boys Association (MOBA) fraternity.

The inauguration of what is now known as MOBA 2008 is in line with the MOBA tradition of ‘old boys’  becoming fully fledged members 10 years after graduating; a time by which they are deemed financially potent  to give back to their alma mater.

Numbering 437 when they were admitted into the school on October 10, 2005, the year group was amongst the pioneers of the Computerised School Selection Placement System (CSSPS) introduced by the Ghana Education Service that year.

Its maiden responsibility is to partner the MOBA 1968, 1978, 1988 and1998 to refurbish the school’s Junior Science Laboratory to commemorate the school’s 142nd Anniversary and Speech and prize giving Day in November this year.

Inaugurating the group at a ceremony in Accra on Friday, Captain Paul Forjoe (of MOBA 1973), the MOBA Ebusuapanyin, charged them to contribute  selflessly to the development of the school that shaped their formative years.
He said it was the responsibility of the ‘old boys’ to supplement efforts by the stakeholders of the school, if they wanted the school to be better than it was during their time there.

He said MOBA, in collaboration with the Methodist Church, that established the school in 1876, would launch an endowment fund this year, as part of preparation to reclaim the administration of the school from the government.

Mr Berifi Appenteng (of MOBA 68), former Managing Director of TV Africa , TV3, Graphic Communications Group, who chaired the ceremony, urged members of the year group to continue being good ambassadors of the school.

As the mentor of the year group, the communication expert, advised them to be cautious of their life choices as they had great future implications.

President of MOBA 2008, Mr Clive Elliot-Mills, on behalf of the year group, pledged to abide by the association’s constitution and honor the responsibilities bestowed upon them.

A minute silence was observed for two deceased members of the year group.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.